Jump to content

calyx

Members
  • Content Count

    470
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    12

About calyx

  • Rank
    one ring at a time
  • Birthday 01/01/1976

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Melbourne, VIC
  • Interests
    natural dyeing, motorbikes, wildcrafting, coding, urban cycling, travel, recycling & repurposing, bush bashing, camping, anthropology, small business, social justice, patternmaking & sewing, roadtrips, autonomous organising, felting, metalworking, photography, bdsm, mythology, being less awkward, being less sick.
  • The year you started making chainmail
    2003

Recent Profile Visitors

22694 profile views

About Me

I started mailling around 2003, when I handcoiled and cut lots of copper and galvy into grungy necklaces made with old washers and bike bits (and spring washers OUCH). Then I got repetitive stress injury and had to stop for many years. In the last few I've cautiously come back, encouraged by strengthened wrists and the strengthened Australian dollar to buy premade rings from overseas, and have been using mostly AA. From time to time I've sold chainmaille jewellery at local markets, as well as jewellery from local rainforest seeds and plant dyed felt. Starting to use stainless steel as I think my wrists can take it, as I'd love to use hardware again, though I'm attracted by the shiny bought stainless (not zinc!) washers and nuts. My health is bad and I have to take breaks from selling and productive crafting but I'm back just in time for a new baby, haha. Things I want to do in the future that are metal-ish are chainmaille clothing, Al/Ti/Nb patterned anodising, welding and silversmithing. But in general I have too many interests and not enough energy or time so I struggle to do everything I want to.

Find me at @lokilovesyou on twitter.

×