madd-vyking

I've got walnut media stuck in me nooks n' crannies!!!

So I'm new to tumbling, just got my tumbler a little less than a month ago. Been using stainless mixed shot (with the blue Dawn, of course!!), to work my way through tons of old stock with fabulous results.

Just finished a pair of matching his/hers rings in fine silver and black niobium. I tumbled/polished/whatever the silver rings before assembly, bringing them to an ultra shine. Made the rings, and proceeded to tumble them in walnut media overnight. (First time working with the blackened niobium--from what I'd read, it wouldn't stand up to tumbling in stainless so well, and TRL advertises that the final part of the creation process of the blackened niobium is a polish with walnut shell. So I figure this is the way to go with my finished project.) It is also my first time tumbling anything with the walnut shell--thus far I hadn't attempted to put a shine on anything that stainless shouldn't have worked with.

So the pieces come out looking swell. Really nice. My problem is the walnut has worked it's way into every little crevice of the rings, and they are a fairly tight E 6-1 weave. Run them under water to rinse, some comes out. Scrub a little with a toothbrush, a little more comes out. Drop them repeatedly on the countertop, still more comes out. Flex them, play with them, put them on, take them off--still more and more and more comes out. But there is still stubborn little bits of this stuff stuck up in the nooks n' crannies. Have tried toothpicks to wedge it out--reluctant to use metal dental pick tools I use during other processes for fear of scratching the work. I am still stuck with tiny bits of this stuff I just can't seem to remove, not a lot, but ANY is too much. Thought of trying compressed air, but I don't have a compressor, I'd have to buy the little cans of it you use to clean your computer. Maybe I should try the vacuum cleaner tomorrow?