Katlee

Captive inverted ring start, first time

Ok, keep in mind that I am a newbie when it comes to any of these, but... holy crap, this is a pain in the patoot! :dizzy: Is there any real trick to this, or do I actually need to have a third arm implanted to do it? I've managed a few, and one of the rings got itself turned at some point (not sure how)... I'll fix it when I get a little further on.

Oh, and as far as critiques for me... I'm an artist. I have dealt with critiques on my art work which are a LOT more personal than chainmail is to me, at least at this point. I have had people tell me how pretty my stuff is, but I should be doing it in a completely different way and style from how I do, and like to, paint/draw. You won't upset me at all, trust me. :D

But yeah, if anyone has any tips or tricks for this one, I'm all ears... It's neat looking and very much helps it keep it's shape a lot nicer, but wow...

This is 20g 5/32" aluminum rings:

post-16149-0-12490900-1347171254_thumb.jpg

Yeah, it can definitely be finicky to start, but after you're a few sets in it'll stabilize. What may or may not be helpful is to have the next three silver (in your case) rings all opened and ready to go, stick your green one in, then hold it in one hand-- don't set it down or move it around-- and grab a silver ring and use the fingers that are already holding the piece to close it partway. Just enough so that it won't fall off, but that way it'll hold it closed. Once all 3 are on you can go back and properly close them, and repeat.

Not exactly sure what you want to know .. so I will say what I see ...

Looks like captive inverted round mail. Ya that first rings wonky but no biggie, since it seems to stablize and its on the end <easily fixable when your done>

The 2nd green ring is not normally there and can could alot of pain since it's stretching things just where you don't "normally" want them to stretch .. however, that said if that's the look your going for .. go for it!