Bernice Daniels

NEW Cyborg Shipping!

20 posts in this topic

I have been dreaming of this project for years - so please excuse my excited geeky ramble...
I am so very pleased to announce we are now using Cyborgs for our shipping!
No really...

"What are you talking about crazy lady?
Over the past 3 months I have developed and tested an order picking app. This system involves an android device (yes I'm an android gal) and a bluetooth laser barcode scanner with finger trigger.
Shippers no longer pack orders from the order picking paper - but from a voice file that tells them to go to this bin and pick this many. They scan the bin to confirm its the correct one and the count is repeated twice.

Here is a pic of a very pleased yours truly using the new system.
We've been using the system almost exclusively for 6 weeks now. I have been picking orders to help shippers for over 12 years - and I prefer to pick using this system. Its way easier, more accurate - and hey its geeky fun!

picking-demo_small.jpg

"Why is this awesome for customers?"
No-one likes mistakes and this system reduces our low mistake count even further!
Our reported mistake count prior to using this system was less than 1% - it was closer to 0.5%. That's 1 mistake for every 200 orders. All of which we work with you to fix.
With this new system we expect closer to 0.1% or lower - that's 1 out of every 1000 orders.
(Yes I keep track - I am an engineer you know...)
Its very hard to pick the wrong item with the barcode double check - you have to go out of your way to do it!
The system also verbally prompts you multiple times over the process of picking an order to help double check the bag count and order weight.

The 2nd reason is that items that come from our manufacturing staff just for your order are now labelled - like titanium and spooled wire.

"So are you perfect now?" No :confused: