Pyreheart

Armored Hoodie Project

I have an idea for a concept, but the options and pros and cons are overwhelming and I could use some advice before I start implementing. The concept is this: create a hoodie completely out of steel rings (looking at 16g, 5/16"), then envelope it in cloth (inner layer and outer layer). The result is a hoodie that does not stand out in a crowd, but is effectively knife-proof (as well as weighted for strength training).

I'm trying to accomplish this in under $150, but have a quality product when I'm done. Below are some of the options that I am having trouble deciding on:

*European 4-in-1 versus 6-in-1

*Galvanized or Mild Steel

*Gauge and ID of rings (in proportion to necessary 12 square feet of "cloth" and cost repercussions)

*Should the maille be accessible or not (via zipper or such)

I'm experienced in maille, and am sure that I can pull it off, but I have no experience in big projects like this. Any help is greatly appreciated!

~Pyre

A couple of things. 1) if you're looking for "won't stand out in a crowd" don't use 16g 5/16". It still has some bulk to it, and not like slightly-too-large garment bulk. 2) If you're looking for knife-resistant, don't use 16g 5/16". Or anything butted, for that matter. If it's butted all it takes is for the tip of a strong thrust to get into the closure groove and it'll spread it right open.

Also, you'll definitely want 4-1. E6-1 is much heavier, much stiffer, and doesn't really open up much. Don't use mild steel-- if you're sandwiching it with cloth the oil you'll need to protect it with will rub off onto the insides of the fabric and probably stain through to the outside. Plus you'd have to make it accessible so that you could maintain it.