Kayle

My first attempt at an inlay project

15 posts in this topic

Well Chainmaille friends. Here is my progress sofar on the Jolly Roger flag that I plan to have hanging on the back of my Action Trackchair when I goto the St.Louis Renaissance Faire this year. I'm using 16 gauge 1/4" anodized aluminum rings for this project. I can hardly wait to get it finished and start on my American Flag.

Edited by Kayle
Had to delete photo so I can upload and update. Darned upload restrictions.

I started out by just looking at a picture that I found online and then someone told me about a program called IGP. That program turns your picture into a chainmaille pattern that if you want to you can print out to use as a guide. I'm still learning the program but having a lot of fun with it.

KrombopulosMichael likes this

Ah ha! I found that here http://www.mailleartisans.org/articles/articledisplay.php?key=567

I'm now seriously considering adding a 5x7 in inlay to my shirt, that would be about 2016 rings 7/32" 16 gauge... I am having a hard time with the math - converting the image into width and length by ring count. if its 2016 rings total that's length times width = 2016 or 5x times 7y = 2016 which i can figure out with my algebra skillzzz but does that compute as 4-1 pattern? I think I'm overthinking this!

PS be sure to share the final result, it's looking great!

Kayle likes this

As soon as I'm able to get back to work on it I plan to post regular updates on it. I'm not good at computing the number of rings. When it comes to math, that's my weak point.

4 hours ago, Kayle said:

As soon as I'm able to get back to work on it I plan to post regular updates on it. I'm not good at computing the number of rings. When it comes to math, that's my weak point.

I just use trl's estimated rings per square foot of 4 - 1hoping that it is somewhat accurate

Kayle likes this