Minera

New User Thread

New user here posting so i won't get deleted right after signing up. Kind of a shy lurker. Love reading the posts and looking at the new designs. This site is a great inspiration.

Hi, Im new to makeing chainmail and can't seam to stop or think of anything to make. I just keep trying diffrent weaves with my 14g 3/8di. gallvy rings I made. I started making sheets of E-4n1 for a shirt( I think, once agin having a hard time commiting to any one thing LOL).All of you

guys make some killer stuff, it all looks great, and of course makes me want to make it too... babby steps.

But i wanted to see if the ring size is a good choice or if I should switch weaves or ring sizes??

Following the suggestion, posting here...It actually took me a while to find anything online but 4-1 tutorials, then I found TRL, then MAIL...started with colored copper/brass [At least, what it claims to be. It's cheap craft wire...] winding around knitting needles, 20g at something like 8mm ID...pliers hardly needed.

On another note, the small punch-discs from TRL that're unreasonably cheap fit well as the captives in CIR of 20g 4.25mm ID...

I'm new, posting here.

I don't make my own chain mail but I do use it on occasion in my jewelry creations. I use a lot of wire though, and like to learn as much as I can about the materials I'm using...and techniques!

I'm so new i have no clue, but i'm here to learn i was at an amtgard event last year where my son was knighted and fell in love with chain maille now i'm just trying to figure it out i'm a learn by watching person so i'm looking for any type of insrtuctional videos or hands on help anyone with any ideas