Sign in to follow this  
Bladeturner

Stitching two pieces of scalemail together

This is my first time trying this, so I'm coming here for advice from those who've done it before.  I'd like to avoid the most common mistakes if possible.  In the attached picture, I got a large piece meant to go from the center of the chest (the tapered end) to the edge of the arm.  I've done that edge in a two scales down for every one over.  The smaller piece goes from the edge of the shoulder to the middle of the arm line.  (this follows Lorenzo's design and pictures.)  I'm wondering about the best way to stitch these two pieces together to get the most smooth looking seam.  (phone pic, sorry about the weird color grade)

scale_preseam_back_1.thumb.jpg.a653f88c07569911490ee1ef1a844363.jpgscale_preseam_front_1.thumb.jpg.bd866a51acb592347f245f1d37b83306.jpg

You should probably just stick with the pattern that I posted. To the best of my knowledge nobody outside of my factory has ever done these seams before. There might be some minor differences since I'm using welded rings with an aspect ratio of ~9 but it should still work I think.

I guess it must be my eyes working against me.  I'm zoomed in on the pictures you posted, especially the rear view one, and trying to do a count on the number of scales in each row, in each piece, but I'm having trouble reproducing the effect.  I'll keep on it, since I assume some trial and error will get me there.

3 hours ago, Bladeturner said:

I guess it must be my eyes working against me.  I'm zoomed in on the pictures you posted, especially the rear view one, and trying to do a count on the number of scales in each row, in each piece, but I'm having trouble reproducing the effect.  I'll keep on it, since I assume some trial and error will get me there.