Hi, I am new to chainmail. I have been wanting to make chainmail for quite a while however I have always struggled to find the wire. I was wondering if I could have your opinion an option I have found:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Marko-Galvanised-Meters-Fencing-Tension/dp/B01BF7I0XK/ref=pd_sbs_60_6/257-5678027-8873725?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B01BF7I0XK&pd_rd_r=f890c6e0-7021-11e9-b50e-d7a80895e95a&pd_rd_w=heq4Q&pd_rd_wg=qvxLJ&pf_rd_p=18edf98b-139a-41ee-bb40-d725dd59d1d3&pf_rd_r=DP6Q7QVE0VP9X1XBHWQ6&psc=1&refRID=DP6Q7QVE0VP9X1XBHWQ6

Also what size dowel would you recommend for a European 4in1/ potentially 8in2.

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Welcome and well come; big question, really!

Size of wire is immediately subsumed into Link Aspect Ratio, a ten-guinea phrase for a 50p idea, but it's in long established use among the horny-handed maillers.  It's the ratio of link internal diameter divided by wire diameter, so AR = ID/WD.

Over there in metric-land, about any steel wire diameter between 1mm and 2mm is plenty fine for beginners working in humble, sturdy galvanized wire for armour projects.  A typical wire diameter for most mailler uses would be 1.6mm/.063" (16 gauge, but guage numbers can be misleading with several wire gauge systems, so international conversations go better with measured wire diameter).  You're looking at the right sort of wire, anyway -- the galvy stuff used for making fences.  2.5mm is distinctly heavy for mail; you could do it in large links (3/8"-7/16") but you wouldn't really want to bear its weight all afternoon.  I'd see what Marko offers in finer wire... for smaller fences I guess.  Hundred-meter coils are okay quantities, you're looking for some bulk in your wire purchase.  (In some wires, quantities of about 25 kilos and greater are economical if you decide to make a LOT of steel, ungalvanized mail.  You find amounts like these in welder wire.)