Lumba

Newby question about chainmail suit

Hello! I am relatively new to making chainmail and I've been making a rectangles for a shirt on and off for the past few months. After looking at a few effigies I noticed that the grain of the sleeves on a few examples ran in the same direction as the rest of the shirt. I want to achieve a similar look so my question is this, using a mantle construction and contractions for my upper torso up to my neck could I join that seamlessly to the sleeves? Are there any pros/cons to this method? I do plan to larp in this so I want to make sure I'm not shooting myself in the foot my end goal is a hauberk with tapered wrist length sleeves and knee length skirt. I've been working wit 16ga steel wire with an inner diameter of 5mm. 

Edited by Lumba
wanted to add more detail and clarify my question

Beep Beep!  Sure thing.

Okay, with a mantletop construction, your sleeves are naturally going to be with their weave in "closed hang" -- like the body of your shirt.  You just weave the sleeves on to that part of the mantle where they link up to.  I recommend angling the sleeves rather forward of directly port and starboard, to give forward freedom to your arms' motion.  You need more slack in the back of your shirt at the shoulder level, to allow your arms to go well forward so you can fight.  Your arms don't go far backward, so your shirt needn't either. Total extra mail in the back would be about five to seven fingersbreadths -- not a super lot, but it makes a difference.  Don't forget to figure your gambeson in.