Cblocker

Painting/ Dying Galvanized Mail

Hey all, this is my first time visiting the forum so please redirect me if this is a topic that has already been covered.

I've been building a mail hauberk for about 6-7 years off and on now out of 16g - 7/16" ID galvanized steel links. Seems how this has been such a long and inconsistent project, I have a mix of dark gray dull rings and new shiny silver rings. On top of that, I have some links from an old project that I have incorporated to this piece in which I spray painted black enamel on the mail (terrible terrible idea) and scrubbed it off so there are a handful of links with black spots on them. This comes out to be three different ring types with three different finishes, but all the same material. The differences in links is highly visible throughout the hauberk and is an aesthetic problem.

I would like to dye/ paint/ color my mail as a whole in order to give it a more uniform appearance. I understand the differences will still be noticeable, but this will at least "blur the lines". What is the best way to go about doing this?

I am going for a more historical look, so no funky colors or decorative trim. A shade of darker gray or black would be the most ideal finish. I have read online that an alcohol based dye or ink would work well, but I have yet to be able to find any suck products other than dainty little 0.5oz bottles for kids crafts and whatnot. 

I know dying mail is a somewhat common practice, as there are plenty of photos of decorative mail online. I have also seen it done very well in person so somebody has got to understand the best way to do this.

Please note: