Sign in to follow this  
Suganuma

Leather edged, fabric lined chainmail shirt

I recently acquired a riveted chainmail shirt. I want to alter it to fit a bit tighter on the arms and be able to put it on/tank it off without doing the "shimmy". 

My idea, albeit completely non traditional, is to: A- split it in the front,

B- line it with a linen vest, 

C- edge the whole thing in leather

D- fasten 6 buckles in the front

E- taper the sleeves from elbow to wrist.

Not necessarily in that order. 

My questions are: if anyone has ever lined a chainmail shirt, what did they think of it, did it last, and do you have any tips/tricks?

And: if anyone has altered a chain shirt to buckle instead of pulling over, what did you think of it, did it last, and do you have any tips and tricks?

I'm a complete novice with chainmail. But I like to tinker so I think I can figure out how to re-peen some little rivets on the rings where I split them. However, I've never tried to fasten any metal(aside from buckles to a strap) to leather or cloth. Y'all are the experts, where am I going wrong before I ruin my newest toy?

Thanks in advance!

Welcome and well come!  Yeah, you're a beginner -- looks like you're after a costume piece.

Thing is, what you've started with is a piece of high-performance, probably Indian, mail armor.  Frankly I wouldn't care to use it any other way.  It can stop a knife.  The way to tell it's Indian work is if the rivets are round, and the riveted overlaps are very flat and large, the rivet hole having been punched open, not drifted open.  A serious protective shirt of most sorts is a pullover so no chinks in your armor, and you take it off doing the shimmy.  In SCA contexts, doing the shimmy may attract some favorable attention -- nice if you're single, whether you tinker or don't tinker!